To Do, To Do, To Do

Awhile back I may have mentioned that I received an awesome new Android phone for Christmas from The Big Guy.  One of (what I consider) to be the best things about said phone is Color Note.

This super-fantastic App allows me to hold multiple lists in my phone at one time.  I also allows me to check things off when I’m done, archive notes I might want to reference later and color code them. Yippee!

I’m great at making lists.  I’m less great at actually completing all the items on my list.  I usually have multiple “To Do” lists going at one time.  Every once in awhile they even become “To Done” lists.  Now I can archive them for future viewing pleasure:  Look at what *I* did!!!!  In the past I just tossed the scap of paper I initially pulled out of the recycling basket in order to write a list ON back into the recycling/garbage.  (Somehow that is just less satisfying.)

In reality the lists usually end up crammed into the bottom of my wallet, purse or pocket only to be found again when looking for a receipt to return something or while doing laundry.  I’m only slightly ashamed to say that I’ve unearthed receipts for a myriad of items dating 6 to 9 months prior when cleaning out my wallet because I could no longer CLOSE said wallet.  (Yeah, I’m totally *that* lady.)

Color Note also lets you check items off of your list.  This is perhaps the best part of this entire program.  I get to look at my phone at the end of the day and think about all I’ve accomplished.  (Then, I can get back to my ongoing Tetris marathon and checking out what everyone is doing on Facebook.  You know – the *important* things!)

Today I took at look at my ongoing “To Do” list along with my “Housekeeping – Monday” list and was entertained to see how I was just referencing back and forth to other lists and their state of completion.

Example from Housekeeping – Monday:

*  Cook any meals that did not get done on weekend.

(Yeah, cooking for the week is on the ongoing “To Do” list for yesterday.  It’s totally not checked off…)

Another choice:

*  Finish any laundry that did not get done on weekend – including folding.

(Am I the only one who tries to hold themselves accountable by being super specific in their lists?  No cheating!  Laundry isn’t done until it’s folded!  Also – this is totally on my “To Do” list for Sunday, and it’s unchecked too.)

Seems that if the task isn’t on more than one list – it isn’t getting done.  Hmmm….  At least I know myself?

I think I might need to make my list making be more all-inclusive.  I see a list an assume that it’s something dreary (scrub the shower!), dreadful (call the health insurance – again – and try to figure out why they think you still owe them money), chore-laden, money-sucking (groceries.  Seriously – stop using our corn for fuel so we can get back to cheap(er) food!!!!).

I think I need to abosorb more of Tracy Benjamin’s style over at Shutterbean.com.  She brings her list love to a whole new level – and I enjoy her view of the web each Friday with her little list of “the best” stuff she’s seen all week.  LOVE IT!

Maybe I need to get a list going of better things to put on lists.  🙂

*  Disclaimer:  I’ve not been compensated by Color Note or Shutterbean.com in any way outside of enjoying their great product and writing/photography/cooking ideas!

3 thoughts on “To Do, To Do, To Do

Share Your Crazy

