Killing Me Slowly

My hands have been KILLING ME. Painful – hot – swollen. NASTY.

Pain makes me cranky. Crankier than normal.

(Let me insert an apology here to everyone I’ve come in contact with in the past, oh, I don’t know, 6 months… Sorry for losing my temper and being generally bitchy/cranky/overly-sensitive/etc.)

The good news is that the pain and associated symptoms are not rheumatoid arthritis. Yay for not having an autoimmune disorder!

Bad news: I have some random form of tendonitis and osteo-arthritis in my hands. What does this mean? It means that my pain is caused by my incessant typing. This stupidity (as well as lot of OTHER stupidity) is caused by my job.

Lame.

I’ve been typing since I was about 8 years old. I was that strange kid who asked their parents to buy a computer program to teach me to type. I figured this would be both useful for my future in an increasingly computer-dominated world and thought it would be fun. My new activity would be a two-fer. Woot!

(And yes, this really was my thought as an 8 year old kid. I was strange that way.)

My Dad purchased Mavis Beacon Teaches Typing. (There was no 2.0 or 15 after it – since this was the FIRST incarnation and was largely DOS based. No fancy graphics here!) I then continued to spend many hours each day after school for the next several years tippity-tapping the keyboard while I honed my typing skills.

(I was typing at about 40 wpm by the time I was 11. If I’m on a roll now I can motor through at about 75. The bonus is that I think it’s FUN. Whoo hoo for enjoying your job!)

I’m quite sad that typing is now causing me such physical pain. I sit in front of a keyboard between 8 to 12 hours each day, and was sincerely hoping for more between increased blogging and some possible transcription gigs.

Here’s to hoping the prescribed physical therapy teaches me something and the pain level decreases.

4 thoughts on “Killing Me Slowly

  1. I am so glad it isn’t rheumatoid arthritis. I am also glad you are seeking help/treatment for your symptoms. Pain makes me grumpy too. It seems the older we get, the more of it we have and in different places. Thinking of you

  2. Workers comp? Maybe you can get some time off to go to a nail salon and just get a hand/arm massage. Daily. If I was the head of that company that’s what I would do. Feel better.

    • So, my first reply was bad-a** but my browser refreshed and I lost it… 😦

      I love your idea – however I’m pretty sure my new reality will involve mandatory stretching at my desk on timed intervals and not much else will change.

      I’d rather spend more time getting hand massages at the manicurists’. 🙂

Share Your Crazy

